Cape Town: Stoked surf

Stoked: “being in an enthusiastic or exhilarated state“.

The other day I got to go surfing again, wahoo.  Before I have just gone down to the beach and rented a board and wetsuit but this time I had a actual lesson, with a company called stoked surf school.  This was probably a good idea because having instruction and encouragement definitely increased the amount of time spent on the board.  The lesson was extremely fun and the coach suitably blonde, tanned and toned.  It is definitely a sport that takes time to improve in but I managed to stand up a few times so I think with practice this could increase!  The instructor mentioned using muscles that you don’t know exist and the next day I had aches in all sorts of places.  It now makes sense why surfers are so fit and toned so I think I am going to live by the sea and own a board someday so I can look fantastic too.

Or, like this…

stoked

Not exactly a pro but still STANDING!

Cape Town’s waters are known to host sharks but fortunately they rarely come close to the coast.  They have a clever flag system here to show the shark status of the ocean and on the day I went it was black, which means low visibility – always reassuring!

DSC00472

In actual fact people should not be too worried by sharks.  According to a poster in my hostel there are more deaths per year from toasters than Jaws and his friends.  Who knows if this is an official statistic but there is definitely truth in it.  Sharks are not as bad as they are made out to be and there is a really interesting and award winning documentary out there called Sharkwater.  Brief synopsis: “Stewart debunks historical stereotypes and media depictions of sharks as bloodthirsty, man-eating monsters and reveals the reality of sharks as pillars in the evolution of the seas.”  I would definitely recommend it.

Apart from frolicking about in the water I also had a sad goodbye recently, to some new friends made at the hostel – Lennart, Franzi and Magda from Germany (and Poland!)

edited

IMG_1970

Thanks for some great times over the last five weeks and I look forward to seeing you again 🙂

Leave a Reply

